Jewishupdates's Blog

December 18, 2009

Out Of The Mailbag – An ‘Etrog’ Employee Writes YWN

Filed under: Uncategorized — jewishupdates @ 2:35 pm

Out Of The Mailbag – An ‘Etrog’ Employee Writes YWN

Dear YWN,

This was a terrible thing that happened – I respect the rabbis and their wisdom, but there should have been some warning…On Thursday, I and 30 some co-workers at “Etrog” lost our jobs. Overnight, we have no means of income, and will join the ranks of the “poor chareidim”. I am sure employees of other sites are facing the same reality.

We had a vision of providing a kosher site for anyone who happened to be online anyway – that is all over now.

I wonder what will happen to all the yeshivos, chessed organizations, and even chareidi publications that have websites. This decision is meant to protect our souls, but is seriously harming our livelihood. The Internet helped unify and unite the worldwide Jewish community – now we will once again be left to fend for ourselves, in our own locales. Cut off from the rest of the world, cut off from each other. And in my case, at the mercy of the chessed organization in my community, that will now have to help us put food on the table until I find another job.

Why?

Again, I am not criticizing the gedolei Hador. I am just trying to understand what alternative they have in mind for us. Chareidi people everywhere are learning professionals that require Internet use. Will that be banned too? Where will the cut-off be?

I am glad this site (YWN) is still here, so I can share my thoughts.

Signed, “Disappointed and Dejected”

NOTE: The views expressed here are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of YWN.

http://www.theyeshivaworld.com/article.php?p=43531

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

